Grapplers Graveyard

Belt Ranks in Jiu Jitsu

belt ranks in jiu jitsu

Honor, respect, discipline, and consistency. Do you hold any of these traits? While training jiu-jitsu you will gain at least one if not all of these traits by default if you allow the sport to work its magic on you. Jiu-jitsu, like many other martial arts, has a hierarchy system in place that is represented by belts. In this article, we discuss the belt ranks in Jiu-jitsu and link to articles that tell you what you could expect at each of these stages.

Belt Ranks in Jiu Jitsu

Jiu Jitsu is a grappling martial art. Just like many other martial arts, the ranking system consists of a hierarchy of belts. Jiu Jitsu belts are tough to get ahold of due to the difficulty of ranking up in the first place. 

90% of the people that start on their journey in Brazilian Jiu-jitsu will quit before they reach a blue belt. At the blue belt stage, you will be required to stay at that stage for at least two years. Only 10% of people that made it to the blue belt stage will get promoted to purple belt.

white bar black beltThe sport of jiu-jitsu weeds out people extremely well. If you are a quitter, make excuses, or look for shortcuts you will run into problems when faced with taking on this sport.

Jiu-Jitsu is a sport that has changed millions of people’s lives for the better. You do not have to walk onto the mats to be a perfect person but the one thing you will have to do is commit to becoming a better version of yourself. If you can do this you can make it to the top of the sport. With consistency and the desire to learn, even when you may not feel like it, you will have everything it takes.


Grappler’s Graveyard was built out of this concept. We want people that are just getting introduced to the sport to allow jiu-jitsu to make them exceptional human-beings.

Someone with principle, discipline, and unwavering confidence in their skills and abilities they pick up along the way to black belt. In Jiu-jitsu there are 5 belts that most adults will receive in their lifetime. Getting to the black belt is hard enough but getting to the red belt in BJJ takes a literal lifetime, we do not expect many people to be concerned with getting here.

The five ranks you can get in the sport of Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu are:

If you look at life from a bird’s eye view it is a video game. We all get to make choices daily on leveling up or staying stagnant with the things we do. Jiu-jitsu is a great way to level up your character in so many ways. The benefits of jiu-jitsu were written about here. 

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: